Event Description

Founded in Oct. 1998 with the goal of performing the repertoire written by the contemporary composer, each year the Modern Ensemble chooses two or three Korean composers to feature on a program devoted to his or her music. In 2002 in cooperation with the Korean Society of Women Composers, the ME performed the works written by the women composers. The ME also held the invitation concert by ‘Yeollim’. In 2001, the Six Critic Group awarded the Modern Ensemble the prize of the contemporary musicians. The group gave performances at Daegu International Contemporary Music Festival (DCMF), The East-Asian contemporary music Festival, New music festival 2011 in Hanyang University, and Korean Music Expo. It also introduced Korean contemporary works during invited performances in China (Beijing, Yanji, and Shanxi) and RANDSPIELE Festival für zeitgenössische Musik in Germany.

Featured Video

“Ariarirang for Gayageum and Piano” – Yoo-ri Kim

Gayageum: Yun-Suk Eom
Piano: Hyojin Chung

Kong, You are dead! for the Soprano and Gayageum” – Yoo-ri Kim

Soprano: Wonyun Yang
Gayageum: Yun-Suk Eom

“Sonata for Piano four hands” –  Francis Poulenc(1899-1963)

I. Prelude

II. Rustique

III. Finale

Piano 1: Hyojin Chung
Piano 2: Kyungmi Kim

Featured Images